enfrdeelitru

Sites et monuments

Curium Théâtre antique
1. KOURION - CURIUM ANTIQUE THEATER (Limassol District)
Kourion est l'un des sites archéologiques les plus spectaculaires de l'île. Ce fut un grand royaume de la ville et aujourd'hui de nouveaux trésors sont encore découverts là. Ce qui est le plus important dans ce site est le Greco - amphithéâtre romain. Villas avec sols en mosaïque extravagantes et une basilique paléochrétienne sont parmi les trésors que l'on trouve ici. Le splendide amphithéâtre a été construit au 2nd siècle avant JC et depuis sa restauration, est utilisé pour le théâtre et de musique. La maison de Eustolios également trouvé ici, se compose d'un complexe de bains et des chambres qui contiennent des planchers de mosaïque exquis du 5th siècle après JC Il était une fois une villa privée romaine avant de devenir un centre de loisirs pendant la période paléochrétienne. La basilique paléochrétienne remonte également au 5th siècle et était très probablement la cathédrale de Kourion qui comprend un baptistère sur la face nord. sols en mosaïque magnifiques se trouvent également dans la Maison des Gladiateurs et la Maison d'Achille. Dédié aux Nymphes d'eau est un autre Roman Monument- Le Nymphée.
Petra tou Romiou Beach (Naissance de Place d'Aphrodite)
2. PETRA TOU Romiou - NAISSANCE LIEU DE APHRODITE (Paphos District)
Des rochers énormes constituent une formation géologique fascinante sur la côte sud-ouest dans le district de Paphos. Il est l'un des sites naturels les plus impressionnants de l'île. Selon le mythe tel est le lieu où Aphrodite, la déesse grecque de l'amour, est passé de la mer et a été réalisée sur une grande coquille dans les roches connues aujourd'hui en grec "Petra tou Romiou". La terminologie pour ce nom (Rock du grec) est dérivé d'un guerrier legendery, Digenis Akritas, qui chassa les Sarrasins envahisseurs avec sa force redoutable. Un témoignage de sa force est la légende qui il lança un énorme rocher dans la mer, détruisant les vaisseaux ennemis.
Kolossi château médiéval
3. KOLOSSI MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Limassol District)
Situé sur la côte sud de Chypre, l'ouest de la ville de Limassol, le célèbre château de Kolossi se trouve un site grandiose. Ce fort médiéval est l'un des plus importants sur l'île. Située au cœur d'une vallée riche et fertile à l'embouchure de la rivière Kouris, le château a été souvent mentionné par les touristes du Moyen Age. Cela est principalement dû à ses plantations grande oliviers, des céréales, du sucre de canne et de robiniers pour ne pas mentionner ses vignobles. Ce fut le cœur de l'une des querelles les plus importantes des nobles Francs au cours de leur souveraineté sur Chypre. En 1210 AD Hughes I, le souverain de la dynastie de ce Lusignan, accordé cette riche propriété aux frères de l'Ordre de Saint John. Le nom de la région est très probablement dérivé d'un ancien seigneur féodal du province- Gerinus de Colos.
Tombes des rois et Parc archéologique à Kato Pafos
4. KATO PAPHOS PARC ARCHÉOLOGIQUE & TOMBES DES ROIS (Paphos District)
KATO PAPHOS PARC ARCHÉOLOGIQUE (MOSAICS): En 1980 UNESCO a placé le site archéologique Kato Paphos sur la liste Sites du patrimoine mondial. Cela a été un catalyseur pour la création d'un plan pour la protection et l'entretien de tous les vestiges archéologiques ainsi que leur promotion et en offrant des informations détaillées aux visiteurs. Le parc archéologique de Kato Paphos comprend des sites et monuments de l'époque romaine (la plupart des restes à Chypre remontent à cette période), le Moyen Age, et même les temps préhistoriques. De toutes les découvertes, peut-être le plus impressionnant est les sols en mosaïque fabuleux de quatre villas romaines trouvées ici. Il y a d'autres monuments importants ici aussi; l'Asklipieion, l'Agora, l'Odéon, le «Tombeaux des Rois, le" Saranta Kolones "(Quarante Colonnes) Fortress et les ruines" Limeniotissa "d'une basilique paléochrétienne.

Tombes des rois: Le «Tombeaux des Rois» se trouvent dans la nécropole de Paphos, à proximité de la mer. Ils ont hérité de ce titre en raison de leur taille et leur grandeur. Certaines de ces tombes appartenaient probablement à l'aristocratie Pafian (Paphos), et non de la royauté. Ils sont taillés dans la roche et la date des périodes hellénistique et romaine précoce. Plusieurs tombes imitent les maisons où les défunts vivaient alors en vie, avec les chambres (maintenant chambres funéraires) ouvrant sur un atrium. Ils portent similitude avec des tombes trouvés à Alexandrie, ce qui est révélateur des relations étroites les deux villes avaient au cours de la période hellénistique.
Choirokoitia néolithique règlement (UNESCO)
5. CHOIROKOITIA RÈGLEMENT NÉOLITHIQUE (Larnaca District)
Une partie de la Liste du patrimoine culturel mondial de l'UNESCO, ce merveilleux village néolithique a été découvert bien conservé. Le site représente la période néolithique à Chypre, offrant un aperçu de la culture néolithique dans la région. Ce site contient des logements 5 qui ont été reconstruites sur la base du moule de construction néolithique. Dans la reconstruction, les mêmes méthodes de construction et les matériaux ont été utilisés conjointement avec les objets mêmes trouvés dans les maisons lors des fouilles pour le mobilier. Cela a été fait pour assurer une impression réelle et exacte du village tel qu'il était alors, il y a toutes ces années ..
Port de Paphos et Château médiéval
6. KATO PAPHOS CASTLE & HARBOUR (Paphos District) Paphos Harbour & Castle Medieval
Paphos (Pafos) Castle était initialement un fort byzantin construit pour protéger le port. Dans le 13th siècle, le Lusignans reconstruit ne doit être tiré vers le bas par les Vénitiens en 1570 pendant l'invasion ottomane. Puis, les Ottomans reconstruisirent à nouveau après ils ont capturé l'île peu de temps après. Le rôle de protection du port a été entrepris par le Saranta Kolones (Quarante colonnes) fort, dont les restes se trouvent plusieurs centaines de yards de distance. Tout au long de sa longue histoire, le château de Pafos a été utilisé non seulement pour la protection, mais aussi en tant que cellules de prison et une zone de stockage pour le sel pendant les années coloniales britanniques. château Pafos a été déclaré un ancien monument en 1935 et est l'un des monuments les plus importants dans la région de Paphos. De nombreuses manifestations culturelles ont lieu sur la place juste en face du château. Chaque année, durant le mois de Septembre, le château accueille le Festival Aphrodite Pafos qui présente un opéra différent chaque année par des artistes de renommée mondiale avec le château, avec en toile de fond à l'événement.
Temple d'Apollon Hylates
7. APOLLO TEMPLE (Limassol District)
Situé à proximité de l'ancienne ville de Kourion, le temple d'Apollon Hylates était l'un des principaux centres religieux de Chypre où le mythique dieu Apollon était vénéré comme Hylates, qui est, le dieu de la forêt. Ce complexe architectural distinctif met en lumière concernant le développement d'un sanctuaire rural datant chypriote de l'âge de bronze jusqu'à la fin du paganisme à Chypre. Nous pouvons conclure qu'il y avait 3 périodes de construction distinctifs; le premier est le sanctuaire archaïque au cours du 7th siècle avant JC, le sanctuaire ptolémaïque au cours du 3rd siècle avant JC et le sanctuaire romain pendant le 1st siècle après JC
1.Famagusta Porte
8. FAMAGUSTA GATE (district de Nicosie)
Famagusta Gate est le plus important des trois portes des remparts vénitiens de Nicosie dans la partie orientale des murs du Vieux Nicosie. Construit au 16th du siècle par les Vénitiens pour défendre la ville contre les Turcs ottomans. Initialement nommé Porta Guiliani après Giulio Savorgnano, le concepteur des murs. En 1980 la porte a été restauré et ils l'utilisent maintenant comme un centre culturel.
Églises Nicosia UNESCO avec Fresques
9. UNESCO PATRIMOINE MONDIAL - BYZANTINES PEINT EGLISES (Troodos Mountains)
La zone Troodos est caractérisée par un des plus grands groupes de monastères et d'églises de l'Empire byzantin datant du 11th aux siècles 17th. Ce complexe de monuments 10 à Troodos, richement décorée de peintures murales et d'icônes, est sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO en raison de leur valeur historique et artistique. L'art dans ce complexe d'églises et de monastères donne un aperçu de la peinture byzantine et post-byzantine à Chypre. La plus petite des Églises sont caractérisées par un style architectural rural qui est en contraste frappant avec un peu de leur parure extrêmement raffinée.
Tzielefos Medieval Pont
10. TZIELEFOS MÉDIÉVAL BRIDGE (Paphos District / Troodos Mountains)
Tzielefos Bridge est l'un des ponts médiévaux positionnés entre les ponts Elia et Roudia. Le chemin vers ce particulier têtes de pont vers une forêt de pins dense, sur Arminou barrage, passé Pera Vasa site de pique-nique (où il y a un énorme tronc d'arbre sec du pin Pera Vasa exposé), et se poursuit à travers "Saouris" ferme appartenant à Kykkos monastère , devant la Grotte de Saouris, "Pen de Mita» et à proximité du point d'observation des vautours.
Monastère Stavrovouni
11. Stavrovouni MONASTÈRE (Larnaca District)
Située au sommet d'une crête de montagne, le monastère Stavrovouni, dédiée à la Sainte-Croix, a été fondée en 330 AD par Saint Helen, la mère de Saint Constantin le Grand. Elle a apporté avec elle de ses voyages en Terre Sainte un morceau de la Sainte Croix avec laquelle le monastère tire son nom. Les gens peuvent venir vénérer comme il est enveloppé dans une grande Croix d'argent. Du monastère, en raison de sa position, on peut voir la région environnante, y compris la baie de Larnaca. La fraternité monastique est exceptionnellement pieux, en gardant des vœux strictes semblables à celles du Mont Athos en Grèce. Les femmes ne sont pas autorisés dans le monastère; bien que l'un des moines descend quelques jours pour les confesser. Les hommes peuvent visiter le monastère tous les jours de l'aube au crépuscule, sauf entre les heures de 12 h - 1.pm (3 h en été). Le monastère d'Agia Varvara (Sainte Barbara) est à la base de la montagne et les moines y ont sont peintres d'icônes de renom avec leur réputation d'iconographie tenue en haute estime partout à Chypre.
Monastère Ayia Napa
12. AGIA NAPA MONASTÈRE (Famagusta District)
Le monastère d'Agia Napa se trouve dans le village qui porte le même nom. Personne ne sait exactement quand le monastère a été construit. La grotte, la cachette et le bien, témoigne de la présence d'une communauté chrétienne là pendant les années byzantines (11th siècle). La première partie du temple a été construit au cours de la période franque (13th - 14th siècle), tandis que le reste du monastère a été achevée au 15th siècle. Comme le monastère est aujourd'hui, il est largement admis que est une construction du 15th siècle, époque au cours de laquelle Chypre était sous le régime de Venise. Le monastère est tenu comme le point de repère le plus important au cœur de Ayia Napa. Il est accessible à tous ceux qui désirent étudier ou allumer une bougie pour un être cher, et est situé sur la place centrale, à environ 2km loin du port. Parmi certains des visiteurs bien connus du monastère était le poète Prix Nobel Giorgos Seferis, un homme grec, qui était émerveillé par la beauté qu'il voyait quand il visita. Il a décidé de consacrer un hymne au monastère, écrivant ainsi le poème «Ayia Napa B '" qui se trouve dans son recueil de poèmes intitulé "Emerologio Katastromatos C" (Logbook III.)
Murailles vénitiennes
13.NICOSIA Murailles vénitiennes (Nicosia District)
Les premiers murs d'enceinte de Nicosie ont été construits par les Francs dans le 14th siècle et encerclé une zone plus grande que les murs vénitiens construits au 16th siècle qui encerclent toujours la vieille ville. Lorsque les Vénitiens avaient la souveraineté de Chypre, ils tiré vers le bas les murs franques parce qu'ils étaient désuètes contre de nouvelles armes comme ce fut l'artillerie. Une autre raison pour abattre les murs était qu'ils étaient trop gros pour être tenu par l'armée vénitienne et trop près des collines. Les murs vénitiens ont été fortifiés par cœur 11 bastions en forme formant un cercle et englobés par un mètre de large fossé 80. Les murs étaient faits de boue, de briques et de pierre soutenant la partie inférieure. Les murs ont été réparés et la partie supérieure recouverts de pierre par les Ottomans quand ils ont occupé Nicosie.
Nicosia Old City
14.NICOSIA OLD CITY (Nicosia District)
Avec son 5000 histoire d'un an, la marche est le moyen idéal pour obtenir une sensation pour le caractère, l'histoire et le développement culturel continu de Lefkosia (Nicosie). En dépit de ses difficultés historiques, Nicosie est toujours au cœur de Chypre. Cela peut être vu à travers les efforts déployés pour revitaliser la vieille ville, notamment à travers le Plan directeur de Nicosie, exécuté sous les auspices de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Marcher à travers Laiki Geitonia, vous verrez quelques exemples remarquables de l'architecture urbaine traditionnelle, tels que le musée municipal Leventis et de petits ateliers d'art.
Old Town architecture
15. LIMASSOL OLD TOWN (Limassol District)
La vieille ville de Lemesos (Limassol) est le coeur de la ville avec ses rues étroites rayonnant à partir du vieux port de pêche. Explorez le centre historique de Lemesos en marchant à travers les vieilles rues et découvrir sa longue histoire. Certaines des principales caractéristiques sont ses monuments, l'architecture unique, des ateliers traditionnels, le vieux marché et les magasins traditionnels. Le centre de cette ville est pleine de caractère et enroulé autour du petit château, et qui rayonne dans une série de ruelles où de vieilles maisons et boutiques modernes vous flanquent de chaque côté. Il est une zone très animée avec des cafés, des bars et des restaurants qui sont populaires à la fois les habitants et les visiteurs. Il est en même temps une plaque tournante de la modernité; c'est le centre d'affaires international de Chypre. La construction de la marina fonctionnement parallèle state-of-the-art du vieux port se rapproche de son achèvement. Pour les personnes qui recherchent des vacances qui prend plus que le soleil et la mer d'habitude, Lemesos est au cœur même de l'une des zones les plus riches de l'île pour l'exploration. Rester ici vous place à distance de frappe facile à certains des meilleurs vestiges historiques de Chypre, et les montagnes verdoyantes de la région de Troodos. Marché municipal: L'atmosphère, l'abondance des fruits et légumes, les commerçants traditionnels et les clients qui arrivent là-bas des villages environnants, tout dessiner un tableau passionnant.
Château de Limassol
16. LIMASSOL MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Limassol District)
château de Limassol se trouve dans le centre de la vieille ville et au-dessus du vieux port. Sur la base de la tradition chypriote locale, Richard Coeur de Lion épousa Bérengère de Navarre et couronné sa reine d'Angleterre ici à 1191. Le fort a subi des dommages au fil des ans des mains de nombreux envahisseurs différents à l'île, et de divers séismes destructeurs. En 1590 les Ottomans reconstruisirent le château tel qu'il est aujourd'hui. Le fort original était plus grande. La suite comprend la reconstruction des parties du fort original, comme les deux salles oblongues du rez-de-chaussée. Le sous-sol contient des cellules qui ont été utilisés comme prison jusqu'à 1950.
Larnaka château médiéval
17. LARNACA MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Larnaca District)
A la fin de Athens Avenue, au point de l'Arbre Promenade Palm et au point de la route Makenzie plage de départ fin, se dresse le château de Larnaka. Il a été construit dans le 12th siècle comme la première fortification de l'époque byzantine. Le premier témoignage écrit du château est dans le 14th siècle, lorsque le Chronographer Florius Boustronius datée à des années de Jacques Ier, le roi Luzignian (1382-1398 AD) qui a construit pour protéger le port. Au cours de cette période, le Genovese a occupé la ville de Famagouste. Par la suite, les Luzignians nécessaires pour développer un autre port important pour leurs besoins. Sources du 18th siècle soutiennent que le château a été construit par les Turcs en 1625 AD, en dépit du fait qu'il y avait une garnison turque stationnés depuis 1570 AD Jusqu'à 1948, pendant les années coloniales britanniques, les Anglais a utilisé le château comme une prison et pour l'exécution des condamnés.
Salt Lake et Hala Sultan Tekke mosquée
18. LARNACA SALT LAKE & Hala Sultan Tekke MOSQUÉE (Larnaca District)
En arrivant à l'aéroport international de Larnaca, le premier site d'intérêt que vous allez rencontrer est le Salt Lake de Larnaca. Un endroit magnifique de la nature. La superficie totale de la surface du lac salé de Larnaca est 2.2 Km² et il est considéré comme l'une des zones humides les plus importantes à Chypre avec un éventail de plantes, d'oiseaux et de la faune. Il a une histoire comme un habitat naturel de la vie de la mer qui remonte aussi loin que 3 à 5 millions d'années. En effet, la vie de fossiles de cet âge peut être trouvée dans les collines environnantes. Au cours de l'âge préhistorique du Salt Lake était un gouffre. De 17th siècle av il était un port naturel pour la ville préhistorique à côté de Hala Sultan Tekke, mais a ensuite été abandonné par les habitants au cours du 11th siècle avant JC Le port naturel est devenu détruit à peu près en même temps que lorsque le golfe a été fermé, et le centre de Salt Lake a été ainsi formé. Fouilles dans la région révèlent que cela aurait pu être l'un des premiers ports naturels qui ont facilité les échanges entre Chypre et les grandes civilisations de la région au moment où les échanges maritimes internationaux a été vient de commencer. Une des exportations plus importantes et coûteuses de cette ville préhistorique et de la ville voisine de Kition qui a été en plein essor, était meurt de porphyre rouge, fabriqués à partir des jus de murex-coquilles. Ces obus étaient abondants dans le golfe et jusqu'à présent dans la baie de Larnaca, où vous pouvez voir l'eau dans le lac de sel ayant souvent une couleur rougeâtre. Comme on peut le déduire par le nom du lac, le sel était un autre produit préhistorique précieuse du lac qui a été grandement exploité tout au long des siècles, jusqu'à récemment. Beaucoup d'historiens datant avant Jésus-Christ, a rapporté sur la grande qualité du sel ici et le grand revenu, il a donné de exports.Hala Sultan Tekke: Fait autour du 18th siècle, il est construit sur une tombe qui selon la tradition appartient à Umm Haram , mère nourricière du prophète Mahomet.
Site archéologique Amathous
19. AMATHOUS ANTIQUE CITY (Limassol District)
Situé près de la proximité d'Agios Tychon, les ruines d'un des plus grands royaumes antiques de l'île pondent ici: Amathus, qui était aussi une ville royale. Il tire son nom de Amathusa, la mère du roi Kinyras de Paphos. Selon folktale, la ville de Amathus était à la maison à l'un des fils d'Héraclès, qui soit dit en passant, était là adoraient. Selon un autre conte, la fille attrayante de Minos, Ariadne, a fui le labyrinthe en Crète avec Thesus, et a ensuite été abandonné en Amathus. On dit qu'elle est morte il en donnant naissance et a été enterré dans une tombe sacrée. preuve historique Undisputed montre que la zone a été peuplée il y a au moins 3,000 ans.
Cyprus Villages
20. VILLAGES CHYPRE
Son environnement naturel magnifiquement unique est complétée par ses villages traditionnels et l'architecture qui lui confèrent un caractère spécial et sont toujours accueillant des visiteurs de la façon chypriote chaleureuse et hospitalière traditionnelle. Un tel environnement imprègne une harmonie pacifique entre les humains et la nature, quelque chose qui peut se faire sentir dès que vous êtes arrivé à Chypre et est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles les visiteurs viennent ici.
enfrdeelitru

enfrdeelitru

Sites and Monuments

Curium Ancient Theater
1. KOURION - CURIUM ANCIENT THEATER (Limassol District)
Kourion is one of the most stunning archaeological sites on the island. It was a great city kingdom and today new treasures are still being discovered there. What is most prominent in this site is the Greco – Roman amphitheatre. Villas with extravagant mosaic floors and an early Christian Basilica are among the treasures that are found here. The splendid amphitheatre was built in the 2nd century B.C. and since its restoration, is used for theatre and music performances. The house of Eustolios also found here, consists of a complex of baths and rooms which contain exquisite mosaic floors from the 5th century A.D. It was once a private Roman villa prior to becoming a recreation centre during the Early Christian period. The Early Christian Basilica also dates back to the 5th century and was most likely the Cathedral of Kourion which includes a baptistery on the north face. Wonderful mosaic floors are also found in the House of the Gladiators and the House of Achilles. Dedicated to the water Nymphs is another Roman monument- The Nymphaeum.
Petra tou Romiou Beach (Aphrodite's Birth Place)
2. PETRA TOU ROMIOU - BIRTH PLACE OF APHRODITE (Paphos District)
Enormous rocks constitute an intriguing geological formation on the south west coast in the Paphos district. It is one of the most impressive natural spots in the island. According to myth this is the place where Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of love, rose from the sea and was carried on a large shell at the rocks known today in Greek as “Petra tou Romiou”. The terminology for this name (Rock of the Greek) is derived from a legendery warrior, Digenis Akritas, who drove away the invading Saracens with his formidable strength. A testament to his strength is the legend that he hurled an enormous rock in to the sea, destroying the ships of the enemy.
Kolossi Medieval Castle
3. KOLOSSI MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Limassol District)
Situated on the South coast of Cyprus, west of Limassol city, the famous Kolossi Castle stands an imposing site. This Medieval fort is one of the most important on the island. Lying in the heart of a rich and fertile valley to the mouth of the river Kouris, the castle was often mentioned by sightseers of the Middle Ages. This was mainly due to its vast olive, cereal, sugar-cane and locust-tree plantations not to mention its vineyards. This was the crux of one of the most important feuds of the noble Franks during their sovereignty over Cyprus. In 1210 A.D. Hughes I, the sovereign of the de Lusignan’s dynasty, granted this rich property to the friars of the Order of Saint John. The area’s name is most likely derived from a former feudal lord of the province- Gerinus de Colos.
Tombs of the Kings & Archaeological Park at Kato Pafos
4. KATO PAPHOS ARCHAEOLOGICAL PARK & TOMBS OF THE KINGS (Paphos District)
KATO PAPHOS ARCHAEOLOGICAL PARK (MOSAICS): In 1980 UNESCO placed the Kato Paphos archaeological site on its World Heritage Sites list. This was a catalyst for the creation of a plan for the protection and maintenance of all archaeological remnants as well as promoting them and offering detailed information to visitors. The Kato Paphos Archaeological Park includes sites and monuments from the Roman period (most remnants in Cyprus date back to this period), the Middle Ages, and even prehistoric times. From all the finds, perhaps the most impressive is the fabulous mosaic floors of four Roman villas found here. There are other significant monuments here as well; the Asklipieion, the Agora, the Odeon, the ‘Tombs of the Kings’, the “Saranta Kolones” (Forty Columns) Fortress and the “Limeniotissa” Ruins of an early Christian Basilica.

TOMBS OF THE KINGS: The “Tombs of the Kings” are found in the necropolis of Paphos, close to the sea. They have inherited this title due to their size and grandeur. Some of these tombs likely belonged to the Pafian (of Paphos) aristocracy, and not of royalty. They are hewn from rock and date to the Hellenistic and early Roman periods. Several tombs imitate the houses where the departed lived while alive, with the rooms (now burial chambers) opening on to an atrium. They bear similarity with tombs found in Alexandria, which is indicative of the close relations the two cities had during the Hellenistic period.
Choirokoitia Neolithic Settlement (UNESCO)
5. CHOIROKOITIA NEOLITHIC SETTLEMENT (Larnaca District)
Part of the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List, this wonderful Neolithic settlement was discovered well preserved. The site depicts the Neolithic period in Cyprus, offering insight on the Neolithic culture in the area. This site contains 5 dwellings that have been reconstructed based on the Neolithic construction mould. In the reconstruction, the same methods of construction and materials were used together with the very objects found in the houses during the excavations for the furnishings. This was done to ensure a real and accurate impression of the village as it was then, all those years ago..
Paphos Harbour & Medieval Castle
6. KATO PAPHOS CASTLE & HARBOUR (Paphos District) Paphos Harbour & Medieval Castle
Paphos (Pafos) Castle was initially a Byzantine fort constructed to protect the harbour. In the 13th century the Lusignans rebuilt it only to be pulled down by the Venetians in 1570 during the Ottoman invasion. Then, the Ottomans rebuilt it again after they captured the island a short while after. The role of protecting the harbour was originally undertaken by the Saranta Kolones (Forty columns) fort, the remains of which lie several hundred yards away. Throughout its long history, the Pafos Castle was used not only for protection, but also as prison cells and a storage area for salt during the British colonial years. Pafos castle was declared an ancient monument in 1935 and is one of the most important landmarks in the Paphos region. Numerous cultural events take place in the square immediately in front of the castle. Every year during the month of September, the castle hosts the Pafos Aphrodite Festival which presents a different opera each year by world renowned artists with the castle featuring as a majestic backdrop to the event.
Temple of Apollo Hylates
7. APOLLO TEMPLE (Limassol District)
Located close to the ancient city of Kourion, the temple of Apollo Hylates was one of the main religious centres of Cyprus where the mythical god Apollo was worshipped as Hylates, that is, the god of the woodlands. This distinctive architectural complex sheds light concerning the development of a Cypriot rural sanctuary dating from to the Bronze Age through to the end of paganism in Cyprus. We can conclude that there were 3 distinctive building periods; the earliest is the Archaic Sanctuary during the 7th century B.C., the Ptolemaic Sanctuary during the 3rd century B.C. and the Roman Sanctuary during the 1st century A.D.
1.Famagusta Gate
8. FAMAGUSTA GATE (Nicosia District)
Famagusta Gate is the most important of the three gates of the Venetian Walls of Nicosia in the eastern part of the walls in Old Nicosia. Built in the the 16th century by the Venetians in order to defend the city against the Ottoman Turks. Originally named Porta Guiliani after Giulio Savorgnano, the designer of the walls. In 1980 the gate was restored and they use it now as a cultural center.
Nicosia UNESCO Churches with Frescoes
9. UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE - BYZANTINE PAINTED CHURCHES (Troodos Mountains)
The Troodos area is characterized by one of the largest groupings of Monasteries and Churches of the Byzantine Empire dating from the 11th to the 17th centuries. This complex of 10 monuments in Troodos, all richly decorated with murals and icons, is on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites List due to their important historical and artistic value. The artistry in this complex of Churches and Monasteries gives an overview of Byzantine and post-Byzantine painting in Cyprus. The smaller of the Churches are characterized by a rural architectural style which is in somewhat stark contrast to their extremely refined adornment.
Tzielefos Medieval Bridge
10. TZIELEFOS MEDIEVAL BRIDGE (Paphos District / Troodos Mountains)
Tzielefos Bridge is one of the medieval bridges positioned between the Elia and Roudia bridges. The path towards this particular bridge heads towards a dense pine forest, over Arminou dam, past Pera Vasa picnic site (where there is a huge dry tree trunk of the Pera Vasa pine exhibited), and continues through “Saouris” farm belonging to Kykkos monastery, past the Cave of Saouris, “Mita’s Pen” and near the vultures observation point.
Stavrovouni Monastery
11. STAVROVOUNI MONASTERY (Larnaca District)
Sitting on top of a mountain peak, Stavrovouni Monastery, dedicated to the Holy Cross, was founded in 330 A.D. by Saint Helen, the mother of St. Constantine the Great. She brought with her from her travels to the Holy Land a piece of the Holy Cross with which the Monastery derives its name. People can come to venerate it as it is enshrouded in a large silver Cross. From the Monastery, due to its position, one may view the surrounding area including Larnaca bay. The monastic brotherhood is exceptionally devout, keeping strict vows akin to those of Mount Athos in Greece. Women are not allowed in the Monastery; although one of the monks comes down some days to confess them. Men may visit the Monastery daily from dawn till dusk, except between the hours of 12 pm – 1.pm (3 pm in the summer). The Monastery of Agia Varvara (Saint Barbara) lies at the base of the mountain and the monks there have are renowned icon painters with their reputation for iconography held in high esteem all over Cyprus.
Ayia Napa Monastery
12. AGIA NAPA MONASTERY (Famagusta District)
The Monastery of Agia Napa lies in the village which bears the same name. No one knows exactly when the Monastery was built. The cave, the hiding place and the well, testifies to the presence of a Christian community there during the Byzantine years (11th century). The first part of the temple was built during the Frankish period (13th – 14th century), while the rest of the Monastery was completed in the 15th century. As the Monastery stands today it is widely accepted that is a construction of the 15th century, a time during which Cyprus was under the Venetian regime. The monastery is held as the most prominent landmark in the heart of Ayia Napa. It is accessible to everyone who desires to study it, or light a candle for a loved one, and is located in the central square, about 2km away from the harbour. Among some of the well-known visitors of the monastery was the Nobel Prize poet Giorgos Seferis, a Greek man, who was awestruck by the beauty he beheld when he visited it. He decided to dedicate a hymn to the Monastery, thus writing the poem “Ayia Napa B’ ”which can be found in his collection of poems titled “Emerologio Katastromatos C” (Logbook III.)
Venetian Walls
13.NICOSIA VENETIAN WALLS (Nicosia District)
The first walls surrounding Nicosia were built by the Franks in the 14th century and encircled a greater area than the Venetian walls built in the 16th century that still encircle the old town. When the Venetians had sovereignty of Cyprus, they pulled down the Frankish walls because they were out dated against new weapons as was artillery. Another reason for tearing down the walls was that they were too large to be manned by the Venetian army and too close to the hills. The Venetian walls were fortified by 11 heart shaped bastions forming a circle and encompassed by an 80 metre wide moat. The walls were made of mud, bricks, and with stone bolstering the lower part. The walls were repaired and the upper part covered with stone by the Ottomans when they occupied Nicosia.
Nicosia Old City
14.NICOSIA OLD CITY (Nicosia District)
With its 5000 yearlong history, walking is the ideal way to get a feel for the character, history and continual cultural development of Lefkosia (Nicosia). Despite its historical difficulties, Nicosia is still the heart of Cyprus. This can be seen through the ongoing efforts to revitalize the old city, especially through the Nicosia Master Plan, executed under the auspices of the United Nations. Walking through Laiki Geitonia, you will see some remarkable examples of traditional urban architecture, such as the Leventis Municipal Museum and small art workshops.
Old Town Architecture
15. LIMASSOL OLD TOWN (Limassol District)
The old town of Lemesos (Limassol) is the heart of the city with its narrow streets radiating out from the old fishing harbour. Explore the historical centre of Lemesos by walking through the old streets and discover its long history. Some of the main features are its monuments, unique architecture, traditional workshops, the old market and the traditional shops. The centre of this city is full of character and wrapped around the small castle, and which radiates out into a series of lanes where old houses and modern boutiques flank you on either side. It is an area bustling with cafes, bars and restaurants that are popular with both the locals and visitors. It is simultaneously a hub of modernity; this is Cyprus’ international business centre. The construction of the state-of-the-art marina running parallel to the old harbour is approaching its completion. For people looking for a holiday that takes in more than the usual sun and sea, Lemesos is at the very heart of one of the island’s richest areas for exploration. Staying here places you in easy striking distance to some of Cyprus’ best historical remnants, and the lush, green mountains of the Troodos region. Municipal Market: The atmosphere, the abundance of fruits and vegetables, the traditional merchants and the customers that arrive there from surrounding villages, all draw an exciting picture.
Limassol Castle
16. LIMASSOL MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Limassol District)
Limassol castle lies in the centre of the old city and above the old harbour. Based on local Cypriot tradition, Richard the Lion heart married Berengaria of Navarre and crowned her Queen of England right here in 1191. The fort has suffered damage throughout the years from the hands of many different invaders to the island, and from various destructive earthquakes. In 1590 the Ottomans rebuilt the castle as it stands today. The original fort was larger. The subsequent rebuild includes parts of the original fort, such as the two oblong halls of the ground floor. The basement contains cells which were used as a prison until 1950.
Larnaka Medieval Castle
17. LARNACA MEDIEVAL CASTLE (Larnaca District)
At the end of Athens Avenue, at the ending point of the Palm Tree Promenade and at the starting point of Makenzie Beach road, stands Larnaka Castle. It was built in the 12th century as the first fortification of the Byzantine Era. The first written testimony of the castle is in the 14th century when the chronographer Florius Boustronius dated it to the years of James I, the Luzignian King (1382-1398 A.D.) who built it to protect the harbour. During this period, the Genovese occupied the city of Famagusta. Subsequently, the Luzignians needed to develop another major port for their needs. Sources in the 18th century maintain that the castle was built by the Turks in 1625 A.D., despite the fact that there was a Turkish garrison stationed there since 1570 A.D. Until 1948, during the British colonial years, the English used the castle as a prison and for the execution of convicts.
Salt Lake & Hala Sultan Tekke Mosque
18. LARNACA SALT LAKE & HALA SULTAN TEKKE MOSQUE (Larnaca District)
Upon arriving at Larnaca International Airport, the first site of interest you will encounter is the Salt Lake of Larnaca. A magnificent nature place. The total surface area of the Larnaca Salt Lake is 2.2 Km² and it is considered one of the most important wetlands in Cyprus with an array of plants, birds and wildlife. It has a history as a natural habitat of sea life that can be traced as far back as 3 to 5 million years ago. Indeed, fossil life of this age can be found in the surrounding hills. During the prehistoric age the Salt Lake was a gulf. From 17th century B.C. onwards it was a natural port for the prehistoric town next to Hala Sultan Tekke, but was then abandoned by the inhabitants during the 11th century B.C. The natural port became destroyed roughly the same time as when the gulf was closed, and the central Salt Lake was thus formed. Excavations in the region reveal that this could have been one of the first natural ports that facilitated trade between Cyprus and the great civilizations of the area at the time when international seafaring exchanges was just commencing. One of the more important and costly exports of this prehistoric town and of the neighbouring town of Kition that was booming, was porphyry-red dies, made from the juices of murex-shells. These shells were abundant in the gulf and until now in the Larnaca bay, where you can see the water in the salt lake often having a reddish colour. As can be deduced by the lake’s name, salt was another valuable prehistoric product of the lake which was greatly exploited throughout the centuries until recently. Many historians dating back from Before Christ, reported on the great quality of the salt here and the large income it gave from exports.Hala Sultan Tekke: Dated around the 18th century, it is built over a tomb which according to tradition belongs to Umm Haram, foster-mother of the Prophet Mohammed.
Amathous Archaeological Site
19. AMATHOUS ANCIENT CITY (Limassol District)
Situated near the vicinity of Agios Tychon, the ruins of one of the biggest ancient kingdoms of the island lay here: Amathus, which was also a royal city. It derived its name from Amathusa, the mother of King Kinyras from Paphos. According to folktale, the city of Amathus was home to one of the sons of Heracles, who incidentally, was worshipped there. According to another folktale, the attractive daughter of Minos, Ariadne, fled from the labyrinth in Crete with Thesus, and was later abandoned in Amathus. It is said that she died there while giving birth and was buried in a sacred tomb. Undisputed historical evidence shows that the area was populated at least 3,000 years ago.
Cyprus  Villages
20. CYPRUS VILLAGES
Its beautifully unique natural environment is complemented by its traditional villages and architecture which lend it a special character and are always welcoming of visitors in the traditional warm and hospitable Cypriot way. Such an environment imbues a peaceful harmony between humans and nature, something which can be felt as soon as you have arrived in Cyprus and is one of the reasons visitors come here.
enfrdeelitru